Get Connected TODAY

0

Sneaky Places Gluten Hides

With the explosion of ‘Free From’ foods you’d think gluten would be easy to avoid. But despite supermarkets brimming with rice spaghetti and millet bread, gluten can still sneak into unlikely substances. Here are some surprising places it hides.
 
Salad Dressing
 
Sandwiches are not the only off-limits area if you’re gluten intolerant. Ready-made salad dressings often contain a form of gluten, which is used as a thickener. To ensure you skip it – and the attendant sugar – bring your own. Try this Roast Tomato & Orange Balsamic Dressing.
 
Communion Wafer
Thou shalt take the Holy Communion with caution if you suffer from coeliac disease. The wafers are typically made with wheat flour, shortening, salt and water. It is now possible to buy gluten-free ‘hosts,’ so ask at your local church if you’re concerned.
 
Soy Sauce
 
Rice-based dishes, including sushi, might seem an obvious choice if you follow a gluten-free diet, but beware of soy sauce as it contains wheat. Instead, choose Tamari a fermented, gluten-free version. It pairs well with ginger, garlic and mushrooms – ingredients in this delicious Asian Noodle Soup.
 
California Roll
 
This popular maki is not gluten free. Even more surprising? The red and white crab-stick contains no crab. It’s actually made from ground up fish and combined with starch (gluten) artificial flavours and sometimes MSG. Looking for a healthier version? Try this alkalizing Open Nori Sandwich.
 
Hot Chocolate
 
As the temperature drops a cup of warm cocoa is oh so appealing. But beware premade drinking chocolate as it can contain wheat. Instead, opt for this Warm Protein Smoothie with banana, gluten-free oats and raw cacao. A hug in a cup.
Shop your Gluten Free ingredients in the marketplace:
       Nairs gluten free porridge oats    Gluten free Scottish Granola   Dove's Farm Gluten Free plain flour

More News

Comments

Keesje:

After being wheat free for 10 years I had no idea about hot chocolate! Also recently found that not all gluten free flours are created equal! I had always assumed gluten free = wheat free but that’s not the case for some breads and flours as they have managed to take the gluten out of the wheat so always read the label.

Oct 01, 2015

TheEightHours:

Thank you, this is a really useful article because you can never be too sure. My friends tease me when I ask if certain foods which you’d assume are GF are actually safe because half the time they’re not.

https://theeighthours.wordpress.com/2015/09/29/new-york/

Oct 01, 2015

Leave a comment

Please select a wishlist category